

FOR RELEASE OCTOBER 2, 2024

#### **German Teachers to Receive Awards**

The American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) recognizes German teachers and programs for their outstanding contributions to the teaching and learning of German in the US. The 2024 award recipients will be recognized at a **virtual presentation to be held on November 10.** 

#### **Outstanding German Educators**

AATG's highest honors, the **Outstanding German Educator Award** has been awarded to **Jeanne Schueller**, German Language Program Director at the **University of Wisconsin-Madison**, in the **University/Collegiate** category. Receiving the honor for the **High School (9-12 grade)** category is **Carlos Li-Burse**, a teacher of German at **The Gwinnett School of Mathematics**, **Science and Technology** in Lawrenceville, GA. Finally, the recipient in the **Primary & Middle School (K-8 grade)** category is **Kristin Gillett**, a teacher of German at **Blanchard Middle School, Westford Public Schools** in Westford, MA.

The **Outstanding German Educator Awards** are presented in recognition of demonstrated excellence in German education and creative leadership in German language education in local, state, and national arenas.

#### **German Centers of Excellence**

Two German programs will be recognized as a **German Center of Excellence**. This designation is presented to well-established and growing German programs with demonstrated excellence in instruction and strong support from administration, professional colleagues, alumni, and students. This year's designations are the German Programs at **Benjamin Franklin High School** in New Orleans, LA and **Strath Haven Middle and High School** in Wallingford, PA.

#### **German Embassy Teacher of Excellence**

**Charles Bublitz,** German teacher at **Central High School St. Paul** in St. Paul, MN; **Anya Zaderej**, German teacher at **Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake CSD** in Ballston Lake, New York; and **Melinda Zeliff**, German teacher at **Alonso High School, Tampa** in Tampa, FL will receive the **German Embassy Teacher of Excellence Award**.

The Embassy recognizes up-and-coming German teachers for excellence in teaching, creativity, and outstanding dedication.

### AATG GAPP Award

Jason Herrman, German teacher at Enumclaw High School in Lafayette, CO will receive the AATG GAPP Award.

This award honors German educators who provide opportunities for their students to study abroad on short-term exchanges to Germany through the German American Partnership Program (GAPP).

# FL-A-CH Award

**Alla Schwarz**, German teacher at **Monroe High School** in Monroe, WI will be recognized with the FL-A-CH Award for excellence in the teaching of the language and cultures of Austria, the German-speaking areas of Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and South Tyrol.

The award is sponsored by the Austrian Cultural Forum, the Embassy of Switzerland, and the Embassy of Liechtenstein.

# Friend of German Award

**Marcia Gascho** of the **Indiana German Heritage Society** will be recognized as this year's Friend of German, for outstanding support for and promotion of German and the study of German.

The award recognizes those who demonstrate exemplary leadership at the local, regional, or national level in the advocacy of German and German language education.

# Goethe-Institut/AATG Certificate of Merit

Five educators will be recognized with the **Goethe-Institut/AATG Certificate of Merit** for their achievements in furthering the teaching of German: **Cornelius Partsch**, German professor at **Western Washington University** in Bellingham, WA; **Randall Studt**, German teacher at **Westfield High School** in West Lafayette, IN; **Erika Cantin**, German teacher at **Westfield High School** in West Lafayette, IN; **Jeff Packer**, German professor at **Timpview High School** in Orem, UT; and **Meagan Tripp**, German professor at **Mahopac Central Schools** in Lancaster, PA.

# Awards for Best Article of The German Quarterly

**Mikael Olsson Berggren**, Lecturer in German at **Washington University in St. Louis**, receives the Max Kade Prize for the best article published in *The German Quarterly*. His article, "*Berlin Unter Grund:* Vision beyond the Surface City," examines poetry and short prose depicting journeys on Berlin's underground rail system in the early twentieth century. *The German Quarterly's* 2024 award for the best paper written by a graduate student goes to Benjamin Beese, a graduate student in German Studies at Cornell University, for his paper "Child's Play and Authoritarianism in T. W. Adorno's *Der Schatz des Indianer-Joe.*"

### Award for Best Article of Die Unterrichtspraxis/ Teaching German

The Best Article in *Die Unterrichtspraxis/ Teaching German* Award will be announced and updated here by October 5, 2024.

# **Remarks from AATG President Angelika Becker**

"With their dedication to excellence in German language and culture instruction, these award recipients promote the transatlantic friendship between the US and Germanspeaking countries and foster the much-needed intercultural awareness so their students can lead successful lives in a globalized world," said Angelika Becker, president of the American Association of Teachers of German.

# **Congratulations to all!**

# # #